Rgbstock forum

forum > General chat > Interesting photography article

Interesting photography article

1. dlritter1 April 2010, 2:07 GMT +02:00

For Photographers, the Image of a Shrinking Path

http://www.nytimes.com/2010/03/30/business/media/30photogs.html?ref=business&pagewanted=all

If the long links brakes you can use this one

http://tinyurl.com/yghg9ln

2. xymonau1 April 2010, 3:23 GMT +02:00

A very pointed article. I can see that we do not help professionals. Hopefully, most of the people who use our images are those who could never afford to commission images, anyway. Thanks for posting this, Dave.

3. greekgod1 April 2010, 4:02 GMT +02:00

i concur with dez...

4. weirdvis1 April 2010, 7:49 GMT +02:00

We do better than that. We help people to become professionals. How many amateur photographers progressed to pay to download microstock sites after we helped them hone their skills?

5. micromoth1 April 2010, 13:57 GMT +02:00

I'm an amateur photographer who also helps a charity by editing its journal. The charity runs on very limited resources, so it has no money to buy images for its journal, and consequently professional pay sites are simply a no-go area.

To me, the stock photos of the wonderful people here on RGB, formerly at SXC, were a fantastic resource. However, I don't believe in just plundering. As I have an interest in photography myself, it struck me as much fairer to also offer some of my own images in an equally free way. Quid pro quo; that's why I'm here.

On the way, I have also benefitted greatly from both the encouragement and the constructive criticism of the image assessors - three cheers to you all, you're doing a fantastic job! - you have helped me improve my photography no end.